Dear John Mayer: Please Shut Up Now

“Whatever happened to class?” my father wondered today. This was after I told him a humiliating story about slipping down the stairs at a restaurant a few nights ago while my date, rather than um … helping me up, laughed at me. More on that in a bit.

Like that lame guy I went to dinner with, John Mayer seems to be seriously lacking in class. As you’ve probably heard by now, Mayer and Jennifer Aniston have reportedly broken up. Fine. Better luck next time, kids. But what does John Mayer do? Well, he apparently feels the need to explain the reasoning behind the break-up to a bunch of reporters.

He started out okay, saying, “Write that Jennifer Aniston is the smartest, most sophisticated person I think I’ve ever met …She’s one of the most lovely people I’ve ever met in my life.” Great. But then he goes on to say they broke up because of “different chemistry” and “I ended a relationship to be alone because I don’t want to waste somebody’s time if something’s not right … I guarantee you [that] 20 percent of the people on this street right now who are in a relationship wish they could get out but they don’t know how.”

Sheesh, man.

Look, I’m sure JM is a marked man right now and people are following him around, hounding him for comment (similar to probably every other day in his life) but can’t he just say, “She’s great. It didn’t work. I wish her well.” Rather than I don’t want to waste somebody’s time which sounds a lot like: She wanted more. I wasn’t feeling it.  And then all that nonsense about how lots of people want to get out of things but can’t and his invoking chemistry.If a friend of mine told me they broke up with someone because of “different chemistry,” I would take that to mean she/he wasn’t really attracted to the other person, there was no spark, or they just didn’t connect physically. And that’s just an unnecessary thing to tell the world. So, John? Zip it, please.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Dear John Mayer: Please Shut Up Now”

  1. n2 Says:

    Couldn’t agree more. I think he meant well, but totally missed the mark. I was so annoyed by his choice of words that I had to take a break and blog about it this morning: http://brainbites.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/dear-john-mayer/
    It just amazes me that they don’t prepare better for these things, given that they spend millions on publicy & PR. We “civilians” don’t even have any “handlers” and still know better. What’s up with that?

  2. theultimatecheese Says:

    What you said on your blog is exactly right! Those words that seem harmless but in the context of a break-up, take on all new meaning. I think he meant well too, and break-ups make us all crazy, but wow …

Leave a Reply

